The Truce Of Friendship

Two weeks ago at night, I began to think about what would happen if I was to die right now. Just left the Earth. And those thoughts got deeper into self-hatred, and overall feelings but the one thing that kept bothering me was:

“Did I want to leave this Earth with nonsensical disagreements?”

I get along with almost everyone (I’m not including my siblings into this) but then I realized that I was still consistently fighting with Arpeggio. It was always fights from who did what first to who does this, it was always arguing to the point that it wore me out just to look at him. What even bothered me more is that I could barely even remember what had caused us to be so unkind to each other other than the fact it started in 6th grade.

Along with the fact that this never-ending spite was also taking a toll on our friends. Whenever there’s something like a party and it turns out we’re both invited, we both still go but we either avoid each other the whole time other than hello’s or end up arguing. As usual. Also about three weeks ago, Aria had a slight emotional breakdown and was partially due to us. When she has said breakdowns she shuts up entirely. 

“What are you doing?” She asked, on our way to Spanish for dismissal seeing him walk past with one of the schedule forms.

“I was consulting with Mrs. Anima about Symphonic Orchestra.” He replied.

“What do you mean?” Her brows furrowed.

“I want to skip Concert Orchestra.”

“But what if you don’t get in. Into Symphonic.”

He shrugged, “Then I’ll be in Concert Orchestra.”

“Why are you so concerned about it? It’s just Arpeggio. Besides it would be great if he got out of my musical hair.” I sighed, waiting on her.

She glared at me.

“Maybe because she actually cares about people.” He said.

“Are you implying that I don’t care about people?” I raised my voice.

“That’s exactly that I just implied.”

“The only person don’t care about you and our consistent sense of arrogance.”

“I’m arrogant?”

And it only escalated from there to the point she slowly sat down and began to rock back and forth.

“Can’t you just get along?” She whispered so quietly.

Which in turn sparked the idea for this truce I speak of.

We were just talking to Arco and Cadenza as we were going to our homerooms from Advanced Orchestra. It became the bend in the hallway which split Cadenza and Arco’s teams from the others. I asked Arco’s to make sure Cadenza didn’t break something as she headed to her homeroom walking backwards. Arpeggio and I were walking on opposite sides of the hallway. 

“We need to make a truce.” I stopped and said into the hall before stopping him.

“For what?” He asked, blowing hair from his face. 

“For all this fighting we’re always engaged in. I don’t want to hold grudges for something I can hardly remember. Plus, high school is coming soon and you need all the friends you can get in that place. And it’s affecting our other friendships if you recall the breakdown. So we need to end this and start being… friends.” I breathed.

“You’re right,” He agreed, which was the contrary to what I expected.

“I can’t remember what happened either. So to this truce on hate.” He held up his hand for a high-five which I gave.

“So exactly do newly-friends do?” I asked.

“Ask nice, non-demeaning questions.” He replied.

We walked in silence again before I asked:

“How was your day yesterday?” 

For the longest time since I could remember, we had a civil conversation.  And there have been sarcastic/spiteful comments tossed but I mean we got it together.

I honestly hope this will actually work.

Float In The Friendly Cyber Space.

2 thoughts on “The Truce Of Friendship

Leave a Reply

